Panel notifies new J&K Assembly constituencies

Jammu to get 43 seats, Kashmir 47

PEERZADA ASHIQ DAMINI NATH SRINAGAR/NEW DELHI

The Jammu and Kashmir Delimitation Commission on Thursday notified the new boundaries, names and number of Assembly constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir, paving the way for the first-ever Assembly election in the Union Territory that was carved out of the erstwhile State of J&K in 2019.

While not mentioned in its order, the **Delimitation** Commission said in a statement that it had recommended to the Centre to nominate at least two "Kashmiri migrants" to the Legislature who would have the same powers as nominated members of the Puducherry Assembly and to "consider" giving "some representation" to persons displaced from Pakistan-occupied Kashmir.

A source said this was a "proposal" that the Centre would take a call on.

A day before its term was to end, the Commission, chaired by Justice (retired) Ranjana Prakash Desai and including Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra and J&K State Election Commissioner K.K. Sharma as ex-officio members, met to finalise its order and later issued a gazette notification.

The delimitation was carried out based on the 2011 Census and other considerations like geographical features and access.

The new Assembly would have 90 seats, 47 in Kashmir and 43 in Jammu, an increase from the earlier 83, with six of the additional seats being in Jammu and one in Kashmir. In a first, nine seats were reserved for the Scheduled Tribes – six in the Jammu region and three in the Kashmir Valley, the commission said.